Hastings & St. Leonards on-line community newspaper

2016 Prizewinner Tzu-Yin Huang at the White Rock Theatre Photo: RG Studios

An evening in with…Tzu-Yin Huang

This Friday evening, 24 July, Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition winner Tzu-Yin Huang will join us for a live performance of beautiful music, writes Chris Cormack.

The nineteenth in this series of short online concerts presented by Hastings International Piano is given by Tzu-Yin Huang, who won first prize at the Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition in 2016. “Her sensitivity and her real love of playing music shone through in everything I had heard her perform up to the final round… quite simply hers was, for me, manifestly the most exciting and alive concerto performance in the final”, wrote HOT blogger David Pullen.

“Hastings fitted our Spring break, and I’m glad it did because I loved the competition – it was a great experience: everyone friendly and welcoming, all the arrangements working well – and I loved the town. It was my first time in England, and a good introduction,” Tzu-Yin Huang told the Hampstead Highgate Express.

This has led to numerous performances in England, including her London debut in 2016 and concerto performances with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2017 she received another Gold Medal at the 66th Wideman International Piano Competition in Louisiana, providing her with another chance to perform with Northwest Florida Symphony Orchestra. In all of her studies, she has learned that the most important thing is to play music from the heart. It is only this way that allows music to touch people’s souls.


Liszt  Années de Pèlerinage: Première Année: Suisse No.2 “Au lac de wallenstadt” – “Thy contrasted lake / With the wild world I dwell in is a thing / Which warns me, with its stillness, to forsake / Earth’s troubled waters for a purer spring”(Byron).
Liszt  Années de Pèlerinage: Première Année: Suisse No.4 “Au bord d’une source”
“In the whispering coolness begins young nature’s play” (Schiller).

Brahms: Four pieces for Piano Op.119 – late pieces completed during a summer holiday in Ischl, Upper Austria in 1893, the first intermezzo being written in May and the following three pieces in June:
No.1 Intermezzo
No.2 Intermezzo
No.3 Intermezzo
No.4 Rhapsody

In these times when the livelihood of our musicians is at risk, this series supports the careers of HIPCC prizewinners and, of course, they receive a performance fee.

The concerts are free to view, but viewers will be able to make a voluntary donation to Hastings International Piano Engagement Fund here, or choose to join as a Friend here.

Watch live here (the video will appear just before 7pm on Friday 10 July) or by visiting HIP’s Facebook page.

Photograph by Richard Grebby.

If you’re enjoying HOT and would like us to continue providing fair and balanced reporting on local matters please consider making a donation. Click here to open our PayPal donation link.

Thank you for your continued support!

Posted 19:13 Monday, Jul 20, 2020 In: Music & Sound

Also in: Music & Sound

More HOT Stuff

    HOT is run by volunteers but has overheads for hosting and web development. Support HOT!


    Advertise your business or your event on HOT for as little as £20 per month
    Find out more…


    If you like HOT and want to keep it sustainable, please Donate via PayPal, it’s easy!


    Do you want to write, proofread, edit listings or help sell advertising? then contact us

  • Subscribe to HOT